IndyCar: Takuma Sato starts on pole position in Edmonton

indycar takuma sato pole edmonton. LAT PHOTOGRAPHIC
Takuma Sato has won two IndyCar poles this season, including Saturday's at Edmonton.

Published on 7/23/2011

Related Articles

  • Penske interested in partnering with Porsche for its return to Le Mans

  • IndyCar: Castroneves, Power, Briscoe and others enter V8 Supercar race in Australia

  • IndyCar: Will Power gets back to winning ways at Edmonton

  • IndyCar: Travis Pastrana to attempt entry in $5 million season finale in Las Vegas

  • IndyCar: A. J. Foyt Racing joins Ganassi Racing as Honda teams in 2012

  • IndyCar: J. R. Hildebrand gets dream-car gift to make up for Indianapolis disappointment

  • IndyCar: Paul Tracy says he'll retire if he lands full-time ride in 2012

  • IndyCar: Dario Franchitti wins crash-filled Toronto race

Takuma Sato has shown he's fast in an Izod IndyCar Series car. Now he has to finish a race where he's strong.

Sato crashed in the Iowa Speedway race last month where he was tops in qualifying.

Sato bested Will Power, who scrubbed the wall on his final qualifying lap Saturday at the City Centre Airport in Edmonton, Alberta. That gave Sato the second pole of KV Racing Technology's IndyCar career.

Ganassi Racing teammates Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti qualified third and fourth, with E. J. Viso (KV) and Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske) rounding out the Firestone Fast Six.

Ryan Hunter-Reay and Oriol Servia will start together in the fourth row, interesting given their skirmish at the end of the second round of qualifying.

Hunter-Reay thought Servia was holding him up on the last lap. Servia pulled over to let him go and then jumped on his tail. They got helmet-to-helmet on pit road, each gesturing wildly.

This event is being held on a different circuit, as airport construction forced a relocation to the opposite side of the property. This layout is 13 turns and 2.55 miles in length. A fast lap is in the 1-minute, 18-second bracket.

Sunday's race (on Versus) is worth watching for multiple reasons, not the least of which is the Toronto hangover. Power and Franchitti had contact in the street race two weeks ago and they're still at odds as Power thought Franchitti should have been penalized. Franchitti said he didn't need to take more than 50 percent of the blame.

Dixon and Graham Rahal also volleyed verbally after the Toronto race and they haven't repaired their differences. Rahal will start 13th in Sunday's race.

Sebastien Bourdais, who won two Champ Car races in this Canadian province, qualified 12th. Paul Tracy will start 25th of 26.

The passing zones are Turn 1, Turn 5 and Turn 13.


1. Takuma Sato, KV Racing Technology, 1:18.5165

2. Will Power, Team Penske, 1:18.5674

3. Scott Dixon, Ganassi Racing, 1:18.6442

4. Dario Franchitti, Ganassi Racing, 1:18.6628

5. E. J. Viso, KV Racing Technology, 1:18.7383

6. Ryan Briscoe, Team Penske, 1:19.0287

7. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport, 1:18.6678

8. Oriol Servia, Newman-Haas Racing, 1:19.7412

9. Helio Castroneves, Team Penske, 1:18.7669

10. James Hinchcliffe, Newman-Haas Racing, 1:18.9323

11. Tony Kanaan, KV Racing Technology, 1:19.0190

12. Sébastien Bourdais, Dale Coyne Racing, 1:19.3802

13. Graham Rahal, Ganassi Racing, 1:19.0682

14. Vitor Meira, A. J. Foyt Racing, 1:18.9781

15. Justin Wilson, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, 1:19.0732

16. Simona De Silvestro, HVM Racing, 1:19.2084

17. Alex Tagliani, Sam Schmidt Motorsports, 1:19.1329

18. James Jakes, Dale Coyne, Racing, 1:19.3533

19. Marco Andretti, Andretti Autosport, 1:19.6204

20. Mike Conway, Andretti Autosport, 1:19.4007

21. Charlie Kimball, Ganassi Racing, 1:20.0348

22. Danica Patrick, Andretti Autosport, 1:19.4713

23. Ana Beatriz, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, 1:19.3224

24. J. R. Hildebrand, Panther Racing, 1:19.5237

25. Paul Tracy, Dragon Racing, 1:20.4836

26. Sebastián Saavedra, Conquest Racing, 1:19.7000


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...