Grand-Am: Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas take the trophy in New Jersey

grand-am scott pruett winner new jersey LAT PHOTOGRAPHIC
Scott Pruett won at New Jersey Motorsports Park for the first time in his Grand-Am career.

Published on 7/24/2011

Related Articles

  • Grand-Am: New Daytona Prototypes to debut in 2012 Rolex 24 at Daytona

  • Grand-Am: United Autosports to compete at Watkins Glen and Mid-Ohio

  • Grand-Am: Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty take overall win at Laguna Seca

  • Grand-Am adds Indianapolis to 2012 schedule

  • Monticello Motor Club launches ‘World's Fastest Racing School' with Riley

Scott Pruett put another check on his victory list Sunday, taking advantage of hot weather to post his first career victory at New Jersey Motorsports Park--one of only two circuits that the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series visits where he had never won.

Pruett and co-driver Memo Rojas took their fifth win of the season in the No. 01 Telmex BMW/Riley, taking another step toward a second consecutive Daytona Prototype championship in front of the largest crowd for a Grand-Am event in the four years the series raced at the circuit.

Max Angelelli passed Alex Gurney in the closing laps to take second in the No. 10 SunTrust Chevrolet/Dallara, which started from the pole in the hands of driver Ricky Taylor. Gurney held on to finish third in the No. 99 Gainsco Auto Insurance Chevrolet/Riley co-driven by Jon Fogarty.

In a change from the Telmex Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates strategy for the sprint races on the Grand-Am schedule, Pruett both started and finished the event, with Rojas driving the middle hour.

Pruett rebounded from a drive-through penalty early in the race when he spun out Taylor while battling for the lead. Taylor led the opening 36 laps before the contact.

Pruett took the lead for the first time with less than one hour remaining when Angelelli pitted on lap 99. He led the final 19 laps to score his 36th Daytona Prototype victory, sharing 23 of them with Rojas.

In the production-based GT class, Mazda scored a podium sweep led by Sylvain Tremblay and Jonathan Bomarito in the No. 70 Mazdaspeed/Castrol Edge Mazda RX-8.

Unlike last year, when SpeedSource cars took the top three positions, three different teams finished on the GT podium as the marque took its first victory of the season.

Bomarito took the checkered flag 0.685 second ahead of John Edwards, who won the pole in the No. 42 Mazda RX-8 he shared with Wayne Nonnamaker. James Gue and Dane Cameron took third in the No. 41 Dempsey Racing Mazda RX-8.

Jordan Taylor and Bill Lester finished fourth in the No. 88 Autohaus Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro, narrowing the gap in the point standings to one point behind Brumos Racing teammates Andrew Davis and Leh Keen with three races remaining. The championship-leading No. 59 Porsche GT3 was never a factor, going several laps down in the early going with a thrown alternator belt.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...